

Distr.: General 17 April 2007

Original: English

Letter dated 17 April 2007 from the Secretary-General to the President of the Security Council

On 9 February 2007, pursuant to Security Council resolution 1727 (2006), I took the necessary administrative measures to extend the mandate of the Group of Experts on Côte d'Ivoire and appointed the following five experts to serve on the Group:

Grégoire Bafouatika, Congo (aviation) Lipika Majumdar Roy Choudhury, India (finance) Abdoul Wahab Diakhaby, Guinea (diamonds) André Thorsen, Canada (arms) Oumar Dieye Sidi, Niger (customs)

I have subsequently been informed that one of the experts, André Thorsen, was unable to assume his functions. Taking into account the short period of time remaining in the mandate of the Group of Experts, and in consultation with the Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1572 (2004), I wish to inform you that I have decided not to appoint a new expert to replace Mr. Thorsen.

I should be grateful if you would bring this letter to the attention of the members of the Security Council.

(Signed) Ban Ki-moon

